Mia for Senate

Apply for FEMA


Governor Nikki Haley released the following statement after President Barack Obama signed a disaster declaration for South Carolina:

“Tonight’s federal declaration was an extremely important first step in our recovery.

“We have now entered the largest recovery program our nation offers in an almost unprecedented timeframe.

“What this allows us to do is to assess the damage of this storm in every single county and continue to add to the list of those eligible for this support – a list we know will grow.

“The people of South Carolina have my commitment: at the end of this process every county and every person will have access to every resource we can get them. This will not be a short or easy recovery, but we will get through it, and get through it together.

President Obama has signed the Major Disaster Declaration for South Carolina for the following counties: Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, Horry, Georgetown, Lexington, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg counties. This means that individual federal assistance is now available to those whose businesses, homes or properties have been affected by the storm.

To begin the application process, please call or visit www.disasterassistance.gov.